Trolling Line

• johnksully
    Participant
    Lakeville, MN

What’s the best line for trolling on a line counter reel? It will mostly be used for trolling crankbaits. Does anybody use backer line or do they spool the whole thing with one kind. I’m thinking braid is better than mono.

I’m kinda new to trolling and it’s time to learn.

Thanks guys.

John Schultz
    Inactive
    Portage, WI

I run 12lb mono on some and have started switching to the stren super braid on others. I started experimenting with it last year. So far so good. Doesn’t bind up as much as power pro or fire line on a bait caster from what I’ve seen so far.

gary_wellman
    Participant
    South Metro

I use 20lb spiderwire stealth for my walleye crank trolling. You can purchase the spools in 150yard capacity. Each individual spool goes on a line counter, with mono backing. I use the mono backing for both filler and to keep the super-braid from slipping on the spool.

There are only about 2-3 out of about 15 differenct scenarios where I would consider using mono over braid for trolling cranks. Generally, this applies when I need a “sloppy” rod or a lot of “shock absoration” with the fish to prevent hooks from tearing on superlight biters, or if I need some “bouyancy” in the line to keep the crank from diving too deep.

charlie_heiman
    Participant
    Randolph, MN

I have my baitcaster setup with 20 lb stealth spiderwire with some mono as a backer line. I typically use a backer line, just because i have seen spools of just braided line that loosened and would have issues gripping to the spool.

I have used this setup a numerous times and has worked excellent.

John Schultz
    Inactive
    Portage, WI

Quote: