Question on Mr. Heater flaming????

• Opie
    Participant
    Coon Rapids, MN

I have a Mr Heater sunflower type that is kicking out flames in about the top inch of the grille.
    They shoot up above the silver reflector. I have replaced the thermocouple and have changed the distance from the grille (bent it in or out). No changes. My other Mr Heater (heater/cooker) works great, but need a heater for another portable.

matt_grow
    Participant
    Albertville MN

I’m no expert on heaters but I do know you’re experiencing an oxygen problem. See what happens when cover one of the two wholes in the back of the heater…. If it helps just put a piece of duct tape over it. I had a heater/cooker that I had modified like that for years I wish I knew how to fix it correctly.

derek_johnston
    Participant
    On the water- Minnesota

Sounds like over gassing and a possible regulator problem. How old is the heater? I wouldn’t use it until you get it fixed. Matt also touched on a good point, there should be a air/mix control on the tube that comes off the on/off knob. Try adjusting that as well.

Also are there any holes in your burner screen?

bigcrappie
    Participant
    Blaine

Insects get in the air tubes and clog it up in the summer time, you need to clean the gas/air tube where the 2 holes are that let air in to mix with the gas.

Brian

amwatson
    Participant
    Holmen,WI

I promise to never flame on the heaters again

bigshoots30
    Participant
    Sartell, MN

I had the same problem once, the station that filled my propane tank put too much in and it was flaming up about 2-3 inches above the chrome gaurd. You may want to try another tank and see if that changes anything?? If not try what the fellas said above!

fish4blue
    Participant
    Holmen, WI