Coyote Traps

• Jeffrey Trapp
    Participant
    Milbank, SD

I want to start trapping coyotes with footholds but I haven’t done it before. Will my #2s work or should I try to find some 3s or 4s? I am new to trapping yotes and they seem like they would be much more rewarding to catch than coons or rats. Any advice on traps or techniques are welcomed! Thanks in advance!

Randy Wieland
    Participant
    Lebanon. WI

4’s NO. My absolute favorite trap for coyotes is #3 square jaw. #2’s work fine, and I’ve got a lot of coyotes over the years in them. I’ve also had a lot more toe pinches in a 2 Vs 3. A #2 has roughly a 5-1/2″ inside jaw spread and a #3 has 6-1/4″ inside. Comparing pan size of most traps, a #2 and #3 are very similar, requiring you to have near perfect paw placement for a high foot catch Vs a toe.

Pee sticks set see pic

Here is a good article written by Hal Sullivan. We have soem differing opinions, but he gives very sound advice. Sorry I’m tight on time, but will try to get back on this

http://www.furfishgame.com/featured_articles/Archived/2010-01/trapline_01_2010.php

Attachments:
    1. Pee-set-marks.jpg

Nic Barker
    Participant
    Central WI-Northern IL

Going to try my first coyote sets next week as well as I finally decided to get my IL trapping license. They might be “undersized” to some but I ordered Duke 1.75’s. I did look at articles like above first as well as other forums etc. and decided, hey I’ll start it out low budget. They cost me $8 a piece for the three I ordered, those coupled with a bait and fox urine and I started my investment cheap. The plan is to have them short chained to reduce lunge area. Anyway, if I catch one coyote the fur price buys me one #2 and so on. So this year is a learning year and what I get this year will fund the new traps for next year.

Randy Wieland
    Participant
    Lebanon. WI