Flatheads or something else?

• Almericus
    Participant

I was out this morning shore fishing with my cheap “hawg seeker” rod/reel using medium/large sucker minnows. I threw them out on a 6/0 circle hook using 30lb mono and kept snagging up each time. It seemed like a snag, but after pulling for a little while it would suddenly release with all my gear intact except the minnow of course! I am curious if that’s what a flathead feels like on the line. I went through 9 minnows in a 2 hour period and every time ended the same way regardless of moving up/down stream. Just a very light tap on the rod and after reeling in a bit,  it would just stop. It’s hard to believe that every single spot I set the bait was full of logs or rocks, but I am new to catfishing and have no idea what to expect.
    Also, I saw a lot of very large fish breaching the surface almost like a whale would. Huge tail slaps and all, but wasn’t close enough to I.D. The fish. Any insight about any of this would be greatly appreciated. 

jiggin-rake
    Participant
    inver grove heights, minnesota

What size sinker weight? Is your hook bending or burring on the tip? Sounds like a rocky area. When a flathead bites, as soon as you set hook you will know 110% you have a fish on. Sometimes ill snag something on the bottom that feels like its moving slowly but its probably a big cable or some kind of snag. Big snapper? Maybe… Try downsizing the hook or hiding the hook better into the minnow. That might help a little bit. Or maybe use a circle hook and let the fish hook itself. Good luck I hope u figure it out. also if your fishing pool 2 and need company let me know.

jiggin-rake
    Participant
    inver grove heights, minnesota

Sorry just re read your post and saw your already using a circle hook. 6/0 is a good size too. Does your sinker show signs of rocks? Maybe the sinker is sliding In between rock crevases.

mplspug
    Participant
    Palmetto, Florida

Quote: