Pelican Lake

• sc maps
    Participant
    Duluth, MN

Hey guys,

I’m new to in-depthangling and I’d thought I’d start out with a fishing report for whatever it’s worth. I fished Pelican lake last week. Walleye’s from the 15-22″ range were stacked on the weed edges where ever there was wind blowing in to the edges in the 20-22 foot range regardless of the time of day. It was pretty windy and I wish I had better boat control. They were in a tight spot and it was hard to keep that spot. Any tricks to keep better boat control? I just got a new to me boat (my first boat) and am still learning how to keep a spot in high winds. For you bass guys, the bass were killing my walleye rigs in the sharp dropoffs in Nelson bay in about 15-18 feet. If I were fishing for them, I think I would have done all right.

Scottie

Calvin Svihel
    Northwest Metro, MN

Welcome to IDA Scottie!
    Great first report!!!! Just a note on boat control in the wind! If you find feeding fish like that and its tough to stay in one spot with trolling motor or big motor, don’t be afraid to throw out the anchor!! Sit ontop of these fish or nearby and either cast and drag your presentation back to the boat…( kinda like trolling) or simply bobber fish them! Both ways can be effective in the wind. Sometimes its better to let mother nature win, and simply take the easy way out and anchor!!!
    I look forward to hearing more reports from the Brainerd area!!!!

love2fish
    Participant
    Shoreview, Grand Rapids, MN

Welcome to IDA SC Looking forward to many more reports. Love2Fish.

sc maps
    Participant
    Duluth, MN

Thanks Calvin! I did try to anchor, but I need something much better than I have. I agree with you, if the feeding fish are there, stay there. I have your basic anchor and a 16′ 6″ boat. The bottom was muddy. Do you think I should get a second anchor? Is there an anchor out there that can hold in high winds and soft bottom’s?

Thanks for your help guys!

SLACK
    Participant