Big Mckenzie Lake Spooner WI

• lrott2003
    Wisconsin

Anyone ever fish this lake? I am heading up for a sunday-monday trip and heard good walleye population along with bluegill and crappie. Just looking for general presentations don’t need specific areas. Looking for set ups.

I have heard leeches for walleye that is about it.

Any info I would appreicate.

404 ERROR
    MN

Spinners with leeches and slow death crawlers on the south side sand flats. Pitching jigs up on the humps and retrieving them back down has also been good. I’ve been visiting that lake every 4th of July weekend for the last 10 years and have always done very well. Beautiful lake with very diverse structure. The Walleye population has been in decline out there for years with LMB taking over.

I’ve never really bothered to fish the north end of the lake as it is a very heavily used recreation lake with lots of pontoons and jet-ski’s, which usually hang out up there.

Will you be staying at West Point? If not, stop in for a refreshment, they make very good drinks.

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

Its right by my cabin. PM sent

zooks

I’ve caught crappies in the bay in front of the supper club – nothing special but lots of action and you can sort through for your eaters. Weed lines are pretty well defined, you should be able to figure it out once you’re on the water.

Never seriously tried for walleyes so I can’t point you in the right direction there. I also believe there’s muskies in there, too but I don’t know how that population stands right now. Hope this helps, good luck.

lrott2003
    Wisconsin

Merican Eagle