Best Sturgeon Bell

• dirk-w.
    Minnesota

Ok, I’m a rookie sturgeon guy. I’m thinking a bell actually might be a good idea for lite biting sturgeon. The one I have is basic – and scratched my graphinte rod. For those that use them, whats the best bell? Yes, I watch the tips like a hawk – but – I cant stare at the rods for hours at a time without taking a break. If you don’t like bells, why?

We got 5 the other night. 4 shovels and 1 lake. I’ll take it – for now.

3Rivers

“Kiseer Fishing Bells” on Amazon. You can get 50 for $10

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I used to use bells until I bought bait clicker reels. I use to always set the hook and the bell would fly off. Most the time the fish would grab and go not just 1 tap so there was no time to grab the bell off

Deuces

Rookie question here, are bells only effective in no wind, no wave conditions?

And if so what’s the alternative?

Will hopefully be getting the boat out.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

I buy cheap Bells at Walmart.
    Just the bell, nothing attached to it.
    Ones I prefer are probably closer to 3/4″ diameter. 50/$2

Use small zip tie.
    Zip tie the bell to the rod, I like to be 3 or 4 eyelets from the tip. Bell should be attached firmly to the rod. Clip tag end of tie. Put bell on bottom of rod to never interfere with line. Zip tie through eyelet legs.

With rod in rod holder, you should be able to lightly tap the butt and sound the bell. Wind waves and boat rocking should NoT sound the bell.

There ya go. Been through many revisions and I’m happy happy happy with my bell setup. No false alarms and if something bumps the bait it’ll sound.

Bell sounds, before removing from rod holder tighten the line up. If rod tip continues to bend, keep slow cranking until rod loads, then remove rod from holder and fight that fish.

The above has been proven time and time again!!!

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott