Best GPS / Fish finder combo for novice on Rainy Lake

• Chris Aker
    Participant

I’m preparing to purchase a retirement home on Rainy, and plan to fish constantly once I retire. I’ve already been told what size boat I need, and now I’m shopping for a GPS combo. I’m a novice when it comes to reading a sonar fish finder, and know nothing about traveling on Rainy. I need the easiest to read fish finder, and a very accurate GPS system, to help me avoid rocks and other things I could run my boat into. I think I like the Garmin that has LakeVu HD with Auto-Guidance, but even then, I’ve seen reviews that say it’s not that accurate. I really don’t want to ram my boat into an underwater rock. Thanks for any info you can give.

Ron
    Participant
    Victoria, mn

I run a Humminbird with the Lakemaster Woods-Rainy map card. I also have a Navionics card, but the Lakemaster is much better. Still, it has its inaccuracies. I don’t think there is a lake I’ve been on where either map card is perfect. Rainy has a lot of reefs and rockpiles, but there are tracks on the Lakemaster card to follow for those high-speed runs. It also is well-marked with buoys on the Minnesota side, but buoys can occasionally lose anchor. I haven’t spent a lot of time on the Canadian side, so no help there.
    My rule for Canadian Shield lakes is if you’re in less than 20 feet, be careful. If you’re in less than 10 feet, be paranoid. And always carry a spare prop and the tools to replace it. I doubt there are many of us who have never hit a rock. It’s going to happen. Just don’t do it while you’re going fast. smirk

bigstorm
    Participant
    Southern WI

I use the Lakemaster chip in my Humminbird too, very happy with it

Chris Aker
    Participant

Thank you for the info. The directive regarding the extra prop is something I’ve never thought of, but I’ll make sure I have an extra prop from now on.

Vagabond
    Participant
    Minneapolis, MN