1/2 ton truck tires

• Nitrodog
    Participant

Looking at getting new tires. Mainly highway use and 2 trips a year out west hunting. Thinking of going with. C rated tire, or is it worth it going with a E rated

biggill
    Participant
    East Bethel, MN

C rated tires are rare but if you can get them for a 1/2 ton I’d get them if I’m hauling heavier stuff or going off road. E is way overkill on 1/2 ton.

But then again, this is IDO. Bigger is always best.

Michael Best
    Participant

One year while hunting in Arizona in January for Mule deer. We had 4 flat tires with in 2 days.
    All flats were rock punctures. There is no way I would use a 6 ply tire on the roads in the areas I hunt. It’s 10 ply all the way for me.

jbg1219
    Participant
    NW Iowa

I Have been running Michelin 10 ply tires on all my trucks for several years now. I bought a used Tundra and it came with 6 ply Michelin tires brand new with less than 2000 miles on them, and I have been running them, but I will certainly be going back to 10 ply when the time comes. The current tires are squatty when I hook up the boat, and did not seem to have the same grip in the harvested fields last fall while out hunting. Lots of spinning. They also seemed to be effected by cold temperatures more and would loose air pressure when the cold snaps happened. That could be a rim issue however, I had to add to all 4 tires. I added air 4 or 5 times over the winter. The kids truck sits outside and has the same tire, but in 10 ply. Never had to add air to his, and I checked them with the gauge. Also I have not had a flat tire in several years, until this winter, and sure enough, it was a 6 ply tire that went down. Even my wife has an SUV with 10 ply tires and never had an issue. Some say it effects the ride of the truck, but I say its a truck, If i wanted the smoothest ride possible, I would not be starting with a truck. I want to do truck stuff in my truck. I have never heard anybody regret buying better quality.