Venison Jerky

• Drew Engelmeyer
    Participant
    Lakeville, MN

I have been making my own venison jerky for about 10 years now. People are generally impressed with it, so I thought that I would share my process. This process leaves the jerky very tender. It doesn’t dry it out to the point where you are chewing bark.

I use High Mountain Jerkey cure. You can pick it up at Cabela’s or Gander Mountain (or maybe even walmart). You can follow the directions in the kit, and the jerky will come out good enough. I have slightly modified the way I do it over time to enhance the flavor a bit, and here are the steps that I take.

1. Slice up the meet.

I generally cut them around 1/4″ thick. If it is a little thicker that’s okay, and if it is a little thinner that is okay as well.

2. Dry out the meat.

This part of the process is not in the directions, but is probably the most important.

Put paper towels down 3 layers deep (so stack paper towels three layers thick), and create enough surface area so that all your meat can be placed on them. I say three layers because that’s generally how many layers it takes for me. Place the meat on the paper towels. Take another 3 layers of paper towels, and put them over the top of the meat. With your hands, press down on the top layers until the paper towels start to to get wet. Leave the meat sitting for 10-15 mintues. The paper towels will pull a lot of the moisture out of the meat for you. If the meat is really wet and saturates the paper towels, repeat this process until the paper towels barely pull any moisture out of the meat.

3. Season the meat.