Navionics and Pools 3 & 4

• Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

I’ve been running an older version of a Lakemaster Chip for several years in my travels on P 3 & 4.

This last summer I bit the bullet and left my comfort zone of the ol’ Legacy chip.

Wow! What a change! These mapping cards have jumped leaps and bounds since I plugged in that old card that I thought was the cat’s meow <- pun.

I’m running an HDS-8 and plugged in the Navionics Platinum Plus card.

(Disclaimer: Many anglers have caught many fish without mapping chips, gps units sonar units or even motors.)

The first time I used this card was looking for a sharp drop off into 87 fow on the St Croix Sturgeon fishing. Pretty much any card would do this. Found the steepest part of the drop and within moments I had my personal best St Croix flathead in the boat. Not to mention the Sturgeon that followed. I haven’t used the depth high light feature that “lights up” the certain depth I’m looking for, but that’s on my list to get proficient at.

A few weeks ago I went out trolling the shores of the Croix just after sundown. Buy using the satellite overlay I could see docks on my screen before I could see them with my spot light. I would never trust a map chip solely for navigation, I don’t care who makes it, but I was very impressed with it’s accuracy. I don’t like surprises.

There’s the super secret area on the St Croix called “The King Power Plant” area. It’s pretty much a bowl until areas deeper then 29 feet are highlighted. I didn’t just say that out loud did I?

Here’s a shot from the Navionics web site that shows the highlighting. Yes walleye boys and girls, cat fishermen and sturgeon fishermen use depth ranges too. )

Also a couple cell phone shots of a Pool 4 area. Some of you might recognize them.

I think I’ll add one last thing.