HDS Install On A Fisherman 1700

• TMF89

Hey guys. So I have an 2002 Lund Fisherman 1700 that I just ordered an HDS-8 w/Structure Scan for, but I have no idea how to install it. I’ve never done any wiring work on the boat before, or tried to get access to any hard to reach areas. Does anyone have any experience working with my model boat, and any advice for me? Thanks guys!

mojogunter

Lunds are pretty easy to work on at least the pro V’s are. Plenty of room to run the wires. I’m sure I or others on this site can talk you through it.

TMF89

Good to hear! Thanks.

ironheadr5
    Northeast, Iowa

Shouldn`t be a problem there directions are pretty good. Just chine in here if you have trouble.

JohnWF
    La Crosse, WI

I have an 02 17′ Fisherman on which, over the last 10 years, I have installed LMS/LCX/HDS units (bow & console), LSS-1, Elite-5 DSI, NEMA network and marine radio. I suggest that you consider running dedicated Pos & Neg 12 ga marine wires from a fuse at the battery to a new fuse block, to be located in a convenient area near your console, and have all your electronics powered with that circuit. It may seem like overkill for your present need, but needs change.

If you have a NEMA network and have a separate antenna in addition to the internal antenna in the HDS-8 you will need to have a switch. Some people power the Structure Scan with the HDS while others have it switched separately. You could have the fuse block controlled with a master switch. The lower left toggle switch on your panel is probaly not being used. Makes for a clean installation. There is more than one way to power your stuff, so you have choices to make.