FOX question ?

• Cp3
    Participant
    Hammond, WI

If I have a red fox or two hanging around the house right now, are my chances of seeing them again in October pretty high? Do fox travel far or if their den is near by do they stay close? Novice here on the world of predator hunting.

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

Jealous. I’d love a full body red mount.

TheFamousGrouse
    Participant
    St. Paul, MN

Fox tend to have a pretty defined territory and from what I’ve heard, it’s not generally as large as a coyote’s, but all things vary. If they have a den nearby, and if these are this year’s kits, they may start to range out more and more as they learn to hunt and as food gets more scarce. So you may be seeing a lot of them now, but once the mice disappear and the birds migrate, they’ll have to work a lot harder to eat. Which could work to your advantage…

Whatever you do, do NOT give in to the temptation to try to call them in before season just to see if you can do it. Don’t risk making them any smarter than they will be naturally.

What I would do is start looking for good calling stands come fall. A lot of things go into what makes a “good” stand, but you want clear sight lines, a good background to sit against, and a lot of other stuff if possible.

If necessary, work on trails so that you can approach each stand location from several directions depending on wind and do so quietly. The idea is to be able to get to each stand while not spreading your scent in the wrong direction and to do so very, very quietly.

Grouse

Randy Wieland
    Participant
    Lebanon. WI

Fox tend to have 2 to 3 Denning sites in a relatively small area. As grouse stated, range is usually smaller than a coyote. Also, Fox tend to be much more routine oriented. The will visit the same trails every couple days. Now, it’s a matter of at what time. A lot of the fox that I shoot comes from setting up where I saw them 2 or 3 days prior.

Cp3
    Participant