Need to rewire my boat trailer

• Steve Plantz
    Participant
    SE MN

My trailer lights are shot pretty sure I need to rewire the whole thing.

Are there any kits out there for this? Where would be the best place to go for the most reasonable price? Anyone have any experience with this?

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Steve

No need to fret, Steve, it isn’t that big of a job and wiring kits can be had for a very reasonable amount of money.

Here’s a cheap / basic kit for $22.99. >>> Trailer Wiring Kit – Northern Tool

If it was my trailer I’d go with an LED light kit. They’re a bit more money but there’s no bulbs to burn out.

LED Trailer Wiring Kit

You can find kits for wiring trailers at just about any hardware store or Fleetfarm.

Hunter88
    Participant
    Oakdale, MN

Ditto what James said Steve. Go with the LED lights if you can.

johned
    Participant
    farmington, mn

hi, i am a mechanic with lots of electrical experiance, rewired all of my buddies trailers as well as my own, i live in farmington, mn, close to apple valley. i can do it for way less than any shop can-(and good quality work). just send me a message and we will work it out. glad to help out any fishermen!!! by the way, LED lights would be the way to go.

jerry b
    Participant
    western WI

My humble but experienced opinion here- – -any splices that you make in the wiring harness should be soldered and covered with heat shrink tubing. I’ve found that the pinch on connectors and anything else that can corrode will eventually raise its ugly head and bite you. The LED (light emmitting diodes) lights won’t pop when you get them wet. I don’t even unplug my trailer wires from the truck since I started using the LED’s- – – jerr

papajon
    Participant
    Grand Island Ne